Day 099

This is a close-up of my Titanic coal necklace. This little bit of petrified coal has seen quite a lot of history – Titanic sailing off from England, chugging along through the North Atlantic, then tragically sinking in the early morning of April 15, 1912 – the coal landing unused on the bottom of the ocean, lying there untouched for decades.

I got my sister Shannan a matching one for her most recent birthday, and it’s incredibly special that we both have these pieces of history. I love this necklace! It symbolizes history, and loss, and remembrance, and creating new memories with people I love.

I really love this photo; this is one I’d recommend clicking on to get a little better look!

Day 099

1/200 – f/6.3 – 55mm – ISO640

Click for a bigger/better view.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

